Posted by: arieliondotcom | October 31, 2008

Back in Romper Room and the Wizard of Oz

Does anyone else remember the television show way back when called “Romper Room”? The “teacher” would look through a “magic mirror” and mention the names of those children she could “see” through it. “I see Johnny, and Stephen, and George and Ariel…” Only she never said my name, of course. I may have jinxed myself as I jumped up and down screaming at the TV “I’m right here you stupid…” Ahem…

I realize that I feel that same way lately while reading the Daily for the CCK08 class. I am automatically included in the contributions by the software. But I keep waiting for Stephen and George to see me through their magic mirror and mention me in their commentaries. I wonder if anyone else feels that way?

Although Stephen’s Wizard of Oz experiment “You had the power all the time to unsubscribe to the Moodle; you just had to click your emerald slippers 3 times while saying, ‘The knowledge is in the network…The knowledge is in the network…’..” was interesting, it made me realize that although some folks value that recognition, those who prefer lurker power over being recognized don’t see recognition as a value. That can translate easily into the classroom and even into the Connectivism course. George has asked the question whether those who signed up for the course are still members of the course, though they participate minimally if at all. Judging from the passion of the Moodlers who were stirred up by suddenly being prodded by autosubscription, I’d say they are, just of different personality types. Some students might prefer to be noticed. They are jumping up and down in front of teacher emotionally even while sitting in their seats. But others are very happy to have lurker power, to be able to connect where they want when they want and continue in their “happy” orbits out on the periphery of the course galaxy.

Anyway, I think I am going to stop calling George and Stephen names while jumping up and down in front of the computer monitor screaming “I’m right here…” either way. Just in case. 🙂


Responses

  1. Hi Ariel,
    I read your post with great interest. A powerful insights into George and Stephen’s intention, and participants’ reaction to their best wishes. I reckon this is also an experiment out of a bigger experiment. What do researchers need in an experiment? In our course – people, resources, apparatus, the mirror and seats you mentioned, Moodle, Elluminate and Ustream sessions, assignments, networks…. What are the researchers measuring? You are right here! Jumping up and down. And I am busily writing in response to your post on this blog, and have joined you in debates in forum. What are the others doing – including the lurkers? How about the blogs? Have I missed anything? Oh yes- the final report. But we have to wait…..
    Is power part of the experiment?
    I understand that you like religion, so you might like to share it from that perspective. And that would be included into the report.
    Renewed thanks for your insights.


Leave a comment

Categories