Posted by: arieliondotcom | March 27, 2012

Real Rest

So there I was. It was a beautiful day and I had fun walking the beach but found myself stranded. I was strolling in the shifting sand and needed somewhere to sit but wouldn’t be able to get back up off the sand if I sat on it and the ocean waves were crashing around me. I prayed for a seat. Suddenly I saw it. Not just a stone but an outcropping scooped out that seemed made for me in the midst of the tossing waves.

David is in that kind of situation in Psalms 37-38. His enemies like waves are harrassing him. His friends like the sand will not support him. They all seem to have abundance and each other but he feels bereft. He is weak, worn and alone. And what’s worse, besides the assaults from outside of him is the exhausting tossing of his own mind toward sin. But in prayer he finds his place of peace in the Presence of GOD.

We can know rest today that David could only look forward to, in Jesus Christ, Who says

Come to Me, all who are weary and weighed down, and I will give you rest (Matthew 11:28-30)

Whether it’s from pressures from outside or the temptations of our own hearts, real rest is available for Believers in Jesus Christ that the rest of the world can’t know.

Believers seem to have less than the rest but have all that’s needed to rest in GOD and escape the restlessness of sin.

20120327-155917.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

