Posted by: arieliondotcom | January 31, 2009

“Good Cops” and “Bad Cops” in Education

I am responsible for training the Staff and Faculty at my school in the topic of Knowledge Management.  I wanted to “grow” them into it by having them experience the collaboration aspect and see what’s most comfortable for them, then telling them why it works, introducing them to the theories, practices, formal classes for those interested, etc.  Instead, the powers that be have decided to formally train 20 people in a week-long course of formal classes in a classroom with PowerPoint given by a contractor and to certify them all to the same level as yours truly.  I’m already getting backlash from this from folks who are being forced to attend, and don’t enjoy classroom training, especially  when it will take up one of their vacation days that Friday.  Not everyone likes formal training and I feel as if i’m being set up for failure.

My solution to reach those who will be “turned off” to the whole concept of Knowledge Management now is to send an email *after* the class and set myself up as the “good cop” to whom they can still come with their ideas.  I’ve included the proposed email below.  Let me know what you think.

Ptooie!

That’s right. I said it. PTOOIE!  You may be one of the folks who hates sitting in a clasroom watching PowerPoint slides and being forced to sit through a week of formal training just gave you a bad taste in your mouth.

My point is, forget the formal stuff. If the only thing that week of Knowledge Mnagement training taught you is to sleep without snoring or doodle better, give me a chance to show you it’s the opposite of boring.

My job is just to help you. Period.  Getting you what you need to know when you need to know it and getting what you know to those who need it when they need it & in the best form for them.

So, “keeping it real”, KM is about Keeping it Meaningful for you, and for others. How can we do that best?  What are your ideas?
You tell me…stop by & chat or email, give me a sketch…whatever’s more comfortable to you. Let me know what you think. And I promise not to use PowerPoint unless you’re into that kinda thing. 🙂

Responses

  1. Ariel, It’s nice to read your post here again, on an interesting topic. What are your staff’s background knowledge on knowledge management? Do they know it? Why do they have to attend? What are their needs and expectations? What are your Faculties’ expectations? Has there been any survey done on the above questions or have these been discussed in meetings with management and staff representatives? Getting people to attend course by force may sound like a power struggle. No one likes to be forced to learn. But if they tell you what they want, and you could facilitate it, then at least they understand you have tried in meeting their needs. Courses for people (or horses) or poeple (horses) for courses? That’s the question!
    Wonderful here to learn. Thanks Ariel.

  2. Hi John

    That’s the problem. A few people have sold the boss on this class after going themselves. And the boss took their word over mine that we need it. All of the questions you ask are what I’d planned to find out in a fun, collaborative way but this was forced upon me & the others That’s why I’m asking for your reaction to the rmail I plan to send Can it curb the ill effects of forced training for those who hate that style? Maybe I should blame Stephen & George for filling my head with open education ideas. But my ideas of how to introduce KM and these ideas are very different. As I said in my student project, the only way we will get change is to put it into practice, so I will try! But as you know I have a tough fight ahead ostracized as I am because of my disabilities. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I think I would change the tone slightly, given that some small percentage of the recipients might actually have the learning style that yearns for ppt and classrooms. So start with something like:

    “If that worked for you, great. Get in touch if I can help you take things further. On the other hand, if that didn’t work for you, don’t worry about it all. It wouldn’t have worked for me, either. So here’s what I can do for you…”

  4. Thanks, Ed! I thought I’d made that clear but I’ll fix it. 🙂

  5. […] you think.Ariel: “Good Cops” and “Bad Cops” in Education. Arieliondotcom, January 31, 2009Fulltext from publisher »Copyright © arieliondotcomSimilar Posts:KM Certification and the Wizard of Oz Effect – 0 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

